



# University of Northern Iowa Vocal Arts Festival 2022

# **Program**

Dr. John L Wiles, conductor Mr. Duane Philgreen, accompanist

Chichester Psalms	Leonard Bernstein Movement #1
Tuttarana	
Psalm 43, Op. 78, No. 2	Felix Mendelssohn
Crucifixion	Adolphus Hailstork
"Gloria" from Masque of Angels	Dominick Argento

#### **Conductor**

John Len Wiles is Professor of Choral Conducting at UNI where he conducts Concert Chorale, the UNI Varsity Men's Glee Club and Cantorei. In addition, he teaches graduate and undergraduate students in choral conducting and choral literature and serves as the Artistic Director of the Northern Iowa Bach Cantata Series and *vox peregrini*.

Prior to his appointment at UNI, he was Lecturer and Fellow of Conducting and Ensembles at The University of Texas at Austin. His choirs have toured internationally to Austria, Estonia, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Mexico, Norway and Spain. An active clinician, Dr. Wiles has worked with colleges, high schools and middle schools across the United States.

He is the recipient of the UNI College of Humanities, Arts and Sciences Dean's Award for Teaching Excellence, the University of Northern Iowa Book and Supply Outstanding Teaching Award, and The University of Texas Exes Outstanding Teaching Award.

His research is published by the Choral Scholar and he has presented his work at the American Choral Directors Association National Convention.

Wiles completed a Doctorate of Musical Arts in Choral Conducting at The University of Texas at Austin. Prior to UT, he received Master of Music, Master of Divinity and Bachelor of Music degrees at Baylor University.

# **Accompanist**

Duane Philgreen is recently retired after 34 years as a music educator, the last 26 years at West Delaware High School in Manchester, Iowa. Duane received his Bachelor of Music degree from Drake University with additional course work at The University of Iowa. He has served as president of the IHSMA Executive Committee as well as the Section 4 representative for the National Federation (NFHS) Music Advisory Committee. Mr. Philgreen has arranged music for many groups with several of his arrangements being sung at Regional ACDA Conventions. He has written numerous compositions for his choirs, including the 2019 winner of the ICDA/IFA Choral Composition Competition.

In retirement Duane keeps busy as a freelance accompanist and clinician. He loves spending his free time with his grandson as well as making toys in *Grandpa's Workshop*.

## **School of Music Voice Faculty**

Dr. Korey Barrett
Mr. Jeff Brich
Dr. Suzanne Hendrix-Case
Dr. John Hines
Dr. Jean McDonald
Mrs. Michelle Monroe

# **Participating Schools and Directors**

Algona Bailey Connors

Aplington-Parkersburg Jeff Bieber

Clear Lake Jason Heitland

Clinton Donica Vonderohe

Denver Tim Baird

Dike-New Hartford Cassidy Benschoter

Dunkerton Madeleine Marsh

East Buchanan Kelsi Giese

Indianola Valorie Hagener

Janesville Niki Bergan

Maquoketa Valley Megan McCrary

Marshalltown Amy Ose

South Hardin Jill Stanish
Thomas Jefferson Travis Walker

Wapsie Valley Abbie Fyfe

Waterloo West Holly Roseland

Waukon Sarah Bieber Waverly-Shell Rock Greg Wessel

West Delaware Jackie Hawkins-Keck

#### **Honor Choir**

### Soprano

Elliot McKeage Algona Sydney Seebecker Algona Reese Taylor Algona **Aplington** Linsey Hart **Aplington** Isabella Sessler **Aplington** Maleah Wessels Clear Lake Madi Moore Mikayla Reimann Clear Lake Valerie Velasco Clinton

Josie Wenger Dike-New Hartford

Izzy EichenbergerDunkertonElizabeth PrinceEast BuchananHarmony WalkerEast Buchanan

Emma Brown Indianola Kaitlyn Porter Indianola

Julia AmbundoMaquoketa ValleyLauren KnockMaquoketa ValleyKaitlyn NolanMaquoketa Valley

Ashlyn Bane Marshalltown Meredith Kodis Marshalltown Elliana Rottink Marshalltown Addisyn McElhose Wapsie Valley Annie Allison Waterloo West Samantha Hampton Waterloo West Ava Hurley Waterloo West Sophia Lange Waterloo West Alina Turner Waterloo West Evelyn Wilson Waterloo West Jocelynn Wolff Waterloo West

Olivia Dougherty Waukon Annie Ellingson Waukon Keira Miller Waukon Kylie Strittmater Waukon Eva Whalen Waukon Tori Happel-Ruyle Waverly Claire Lorenzen Waverly Waverly Haleigh Smith-Laughlin

Hadleigh Wolff Waverly

Lauren Johnson West Delaware
Abigail O'Rear West Delaware
Ali Robinson West Delaware
Grace Sleper West Delaware
Liz Sleper West Delaware
Olivia Zirtman West Delaware

#### Alto

Jordan Jansen Algona Algona Flynn McCann Tenille Phelps Algona Natalee Reemtsma Algona Aplington Shayla Barrett Aplington Lauren Carney **Aplington** Audrey Story Clear Lake Cecillia Clark Annika Shallberg Clear Lake Brynn Vonderohe Clinton Leo Burk Denver

Josey Syhlman Dike-New Hartford
Ella Dorman East Buchanan
Ehbig Sweet East Buchanan

Ebbie Sweet East Buchanan Mazine White East Buchanan

Paige Geiken Indianola
Norah Leuwerke Indianola
Ashleigh Panning Janesville
Eve Seedorff Janesville

Chantel Crowley
Averi Bolar
Marshalltown
Jazmine Westcott
Marshalltown
Katherine Stanish
South Hardin

Lily Mitchell
Thomas Jefferson
Gwyneth Sudario
Thomas Jefferson
Lily Schwickerath
Wapsie Valley
Neo Bell
Waterloo West
Samie Camilo
Ally Johnson
Waterloo West

Lily Johnson Waterloo West

Lily Maricle Waterloo West
Lindsey Squire Waterloo West
Maddie Writz Waterloo West

Halea Corwin Waukon Ella Delhi Waukon Issac Johanningmeier Waukon Reagan Lubahn Waukon Molly Peake Waukon **Bailey Sherman** Waukon Peyton Smedsrud Waukon Sarah Stock Waukon Kiley Clewell Waverly Waverly Adrian Drenkow Bella Feldhake Waverly Waverly Lyla Pier-Atkinson Waverly Paulina Robles

West Delaware Kelly Beckman West Delaware Maddy Johnson West Delaware Maggie Millenkamp Madeline Palas West Delaware Gwen Pasker West Delaware West Delaware Alex Rattenborg Aubrey Wilson West Delaware Kamira Zehr West Delaware

#### **Tenor**

Seth Walker Algona **Aplington** Jonah Carney Aplington Johnithan Ward Clear Lake Asher Morrow Mason Luckritz Clinton Cael Britton Indianola Jordan LoVan Indianola **Brady Meyers** Indianola

Jay RixnerIndianolaCece TrenkampMaquoketa ValleyTyson BentleyThomas JeffersonIan HartsonWaterloo WestRyan WeiWaterloo West

Trevor Block Waukon
Josh Arthur Waverly
Nick Barber Waverly
Sophia Frenna Waverly
Caleb Hoins Waverly
Leo Nosbish Waverly

Conner Hansen West Delaware
Gil Johnson West Delaware

#### **Bass**

Dane Nygaard Algona
Kamdon Hoppenworth Aplington
Eli Thome Aplington
Clarke Beard Clear Lake
Bergen Klaehn Clear Lake
Morgan Wehling Clinton

Daniel Merrill Dike-New Hartford

Jacob Butz Indianola Kael Christensen Indianola

Jesus Rumbo Maquoketa Valley
Thomas Harmon Thomas Jefferson
Gabe Russell Thomas Jefferson
Logan Allison Waterloo West
Bobby Dellit Waterloo West
Brandon Molina Waterloo West

Gabe Goettel Waukon Drake Hankes Waukon Caleb Perkins Waukon Luke Clewell Waverly Zach Cummer Waverly Christoph Letsche Waverly Carter Menkin Waverly John Nelson Waverly Jonah Nelson Waverly

Ashton Chesmore West Delaware
Michael Kephart West Delaware
Grant Kramer West Delaware
Cruz Timmerman West Delaware
Zach Wenger West Delaware

In consideration of the performers and other members of the audience, please enter or leave a performance at the end of a composition.

Cameras and recording equipment are **not permitted**. Please turn off all electronic devices, and be sure that all emergency contact cell phones and pagers are set to silent or vibrate.

This event is **free** to all UNI students, courtesy of the Panther Pass Program.

Performances like this are made possible through private support from patrons like you! Please consider contributing to School of Music scholarships or guest artist programs. Call 319-273-3915 or visit music.uni.edu to make your gift.