

UNIVERSITY OF NORTHERN IOWA VOCAL ARTS FESTIVAL 2023

PROGRAM

Dr. John L Wiles, conductor Mr. Duane Philgreen, accompanist

Regina Coeli W.A Mozart

Ama Namin Fidel Calalang

Stomp on the Fire Andrea Ramsey

Through Love to Light Elaine Hagenberg

I Am Loved Christopher Harris

CONDUCTOR

John Len Wiles is Professor of Choral Conducting at UNI where he conducts Concert Chorale, the UNI Varsity Men's Glee Club and Cantorei. In addition, he teaches graduate and undergraduate students in choral conducting and choral literature and serves as the Artistic Director of the Northern Iowa Bach Cantata Series and *vox peregrini*.

Prior to his appointment at UNI, he was Lecturer and Fellow of Conducting and Ensembles at The University of Texas at Austin. His choirs have toured internationally to Austria, Estonia, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Mexico, Norway and Spain. An active clinician, Dr. Wiles has worked with colleges, high schools and middle schools across the United States.

He is the recipient of the UNI College of Humanities, Arts and Sciences Dean's Award for Teaching Excellence, the University of Northern Iowa Book and Supply Outstanding Teaching Award, and The University of Texas Exes Outstanding Teaching Award.

His research is published by the Choral Scholar and he has presented his work at the American Choral Directors Association National Convention.

Wiles completed a Doctorate of Musical Arts in Choral Conducting at The University of Texas at Austin. Prior to UT, he received Master of Music, Master of Divinity and Bachelor of Music degrees at Baylor University.

ACCOMPANIST

Duane Philgreen is recently retired after 34 years as a music educator, the last 26 years at West Delaware High School in Manchester, Iowa. Duane received his Bachelor of Music degree from Drake University with additional course work at The University of Iowa. He has served as president of the IHSMA Executive Committee as well as the Section 4 representative for the National Federation (NFHS) Music Advisory Committee. Mr. Philgreen has arranged music for many groups with several of his arrangements being sung at Regional ACDA Conventions. He has written numerous compositions for his choirs, including the 2019 winner of the ICDA/IFA Choral Composition Competition.

In retirement Duane keeps busy as a freelance accompanist and clinician. He loves spending his free time with his grandson as well as making toys in *Grandpa's Workshop*.

SCHOOL OF MUSIC VOICE FACULTY

Dr. Korey Barrett
Prof. Jeff Brich
Dr. Suzanne Hendrix-Case
Dr. John Hines
Dr. Jean McDonald
Prof. Michelle Monroe
Prof. Kathryn Saulsbury

PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS AND DIRECTORS

Aplington-Parkersburg

Clear Lake Denver

Dike-New Hartford

Dunkerton East Marshall Indianola

Maquoketa Valley

Nevada Oelwein

South Hardin

Thomas Jefferson Waterloo West

Waukon

Waverly-Shell Rock

West Delaware

Jeff Bieber

Jason Heitland Tim Baird

Cassidy Benschoter

Madeleine Regan Sheryl Mullikin Valorie Hagener

Megan McCrary Shawna Dumbaugh

Darci Fuelling

Jill Stanish

Travis Walker Holly Roseland

Sarah Bieber

Greg Wessel

Jackie Hawkins-Keck

HONOR CHOIR

Soprano

Bella Sessler Aplington-Parkersburg
Sierra Sessler Aplington-Parkersburg
Maleah Wessels Aplington-Parkersburg

Madi Moore Clear Lake
Kristen Best Dunkerton
Bri DeMaris Dunkerton
Gwen Dietz Dunkerton
Savannah Cahalan East Marshall
Emma Brown Indianola
Ava Outlaw Indianola

Addie Rudd Maquoketa Valley

Mabyn Jones Nevada

Annie Allison Waterloo West Sophia Lange Waterloo West

Jocelynn WolfWaterlooTrinity ProtsmanWaukonKylie StrittmatterWaukon

Alex Johnson Waverly-Shell Rock
Lily Myrmo Waverly-Shell Rock

Kate Nelson Waverly-Shell

Mezzo-Soprano

Mariposa Coleman Clear Lake
Indie Miller Clear Lake
Kaylee Ostrander Clear Lake
Bella O'Meara Indianola
Kaitlyn Nolan Maquoketa
Chiara Chappell Nevada

Lilly Mitchell Thomas Jefferson
Abygail Sharp Thomas Jefferson
Alyson Sharp Thomas Jefferson
Theo Bell Waterloo West

Madi DahlstromWaukonAnnie EllingsonWaukonEireann GoettelWaukonHaylee JeglumWaukon

Meredith Ellingworth Waverly-Shell Rock
Tori Happel-Ruyle Waverly-Shell Rock
Lanie Herrmeyer Waverly-Shell Rock

Emily Claire Lorenzen Waverly-Shell Rock

Ali Robinson West Delaware
Grace Sleper West Delaware
Liz Sleper West Delaware

Alto

Lauren CarneyAplington-ParkersburgAudrey StoryAplington-ParkersburgEmily StoryAplington-Parkersburg

Clear Lake Emily McLaughlin Clear Lake Annika Shallberg Denver Lily Cooper Cody Anderson Dunkerton Lauren Snyder Dunkerton Emma Wolff Dunkerton Grace Avitt Indianola Nadia Gioffredi Indianola Olivia Jackson Indianola Kate Jones Indianola Indianola Alana Moser Kelci Petersen Indianola

Chantel Crowley Maquoketa Valley
Taylor Saunders Maquoketa Valley

Nevada Samantha Garcia Sarah Mehari Nevada Oelwein Macy Westendorf Katherine Stanish South Hardin Jasmine Bartolon Thomas Jefferson Thomas Jefferson Salem George Thomas Jefferson Gwyneth Sudario Waterloo West Allyson Johnson Trinitee Stokes-Flowers Waterloo West

Halea Corwin Waukon

Emma Anhalt Waverly-Shell Rock
Addie Backer Waverly-Shell Rock
Megan Groth Waverly-Shell Rock
Natalie Herbers Waverly-Shell Rock
Lyla Pier-Atkinson Waverly-Shell Rock
Aeryn Quick Waverly-Shell Rock
Paulina Robles Waverly-Shell Rock

Maddy JohnsonWest DelawareGwen PaskerWest DelawareMaya PenningtonWest DelawareMakayla SeeleyWest Delaware

Tenor

Jonah Carney Aplington-Parkersburg
Corbin Stroh Aplington-Parkersburg

Cecilia Clark Clear Lake
Luke Moore Clear Lake

Erika Pasker Denver

Anthony Bering Dike-New Hartford

Aden Butler Dike-New Hartford

Jordan LoVan Indianola
Brady Meyers Indianola
Walker Thomas Indianola

Trish Dietiker Maquoketa Valley
Tristan Dietz Maquoketa Valley
Cece Trenkamp Maquoketa Valley
Shane Wright Maquoketa Valley

Braeden Moore Nevada

Tyson Bentley Thomas Jefferson Ryan Wei Waterloo West

Keaton Anderson

Waverly-Shell Rock

Kiley Clewell

Waverly-Shell Rock

Adrien Drenkow

Waverly-Shell Rock

Braden Knight

Waverly-Shell Rock

Christoph Letsche

Waverly-Shell Rock

Waverly-Shell Rock

Waverly-Shell Rock

Keizel Rivera West Delaware

Baritone

Eli Thorne Aplington-Parkersburg

Johnathan Ward Aplington-Parkersburg

Clarke Beard Clear Lake
Abraham Clark Clear Lake
Kieffer Blaylock Dunkerton
Gus Moncada Dunkerton
Isaac Roberts Dunkerton
Sawyer Chapman Indianola

Jesús Rumbo Maquoketa Valley

Hayden Cheek Nevada
Vincent Conrad Nevada
Eduardo Garcia Nevada
Eayon Phipps Nevada
Joshua Lopez Oelwein

Korbin Bouska Waverly-Shell Rock
John Kang Waverly-Shell Rock
Jeffery Kang Waverly-Shell Rock
Carter Menken Waverly-Shell Rock
Jonah Nelson Waverly-Shell Rock
David Sun Waverly-Shell Rock

Ashton Chesmore West Delaware
Zach Wenger West Delaware

Bass

Bergen Klaehn Clear Lake

Daniel Merrill Dike-New Hartford

Rico Miller Indianola
Aaron Wetzler Indianola

Gabriel Russell
Atticus Walker
Thomas Jefferson
Brandon Molina
Waterloo West
Riley Orr
Wyler Squire
Waterloo West
Waterloo West

ADDITIONAL EVENT INFORMATION

In consideration of the performers and other members of the audience, please enter or leave a performance at the end of a composition.

Cameras and recording equipment are **not permitted**. Please turn off all electronic devices, and be sure that all emergency contact cell phones and pagers are set to silent or vibrate.

This event is **free** to all UNI students, courtesy of the Panther Pass Program.

Performances like this are made possible through private support from patrons like you! Please consider contributing to School of Music scholarships or guest artist programs. Call 319-273-3915 or visit music.uni.edu to make your gift.



School of Music