UPCOMING EVENTS

NORTHERN IOWA BACH CANTATA FRIDAY, OCTOBER 23 AT 12:15 P.M. MCELROY LOBBY, GBPAC

JERRY YOUNG, TUBA FRIDAY, OCTOBER 23 AT 8 P.M. DAVIS HALL, GBPAC

UNI KEYBOARD AND VOCAL FESTIVAL SATURDAY-SUNDAY, OCTOBER 24-25 DAVIS HALL, GBPAC

THE SCHOOL OF MUSIC CALENDAR OF EVENTS IS AVAILABLE ONLINE AT **WWW.UNI.EDU/MUSIC/EVENTS**. TO RECEIVE A HARDCOPY, PLEASE CALL 319-273-2028.

In consideration of the performers and other members of the audience, please enter or leave a performance at the end of a composition.

Cameras and recording equipment are **not permitted**. Please turn off all electronic devices, and be sure that all emergency contact cell phones and pagers are set to silent or vibrate.

This event is **free** to all UNI students, courtesy of the Panther Pass Program.

Performances like this are made possible through private support from patrons like you! Please consider contributing to School of Music scholarships or guest artist programs. Call 319-273-3915 or visit www.uni.edu/music to make your gift.





-SPOTLIGHT SERIES-

Symphonic Gems

NORTHERN IOWA SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA

REBECCA BURKHARDT, MUSIC DIRECTOR
JASON WEINBERGER, GUEST CONDUCTOR
SEAN BOTKIN, PIANO
JOHN CHILES, GRADUATE
STUDENT CONDUCTOR

PROGRAM

Symphony I	No. 40 in G Minor, K. 550	W. A. Mozart
I.	Molto Allegro(1756-1791)	
П.	Andante	
III.	Menuetto, allegretto	

IV. Allegro assai

John Chiles, conductor (Presented in partial fulfillment of the Master of Music in Conducting)

Night on Bald Mountain Modest Mussorgsky (1839-1881) (arr. Rimsky-Korsakov)

Jason Weinberger, conductor

INTERMISSION

Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18 ... Sergei Rachmaninoff

- Moderato(1873-1943)
- Adagio sostenuto
- Allegro scherzando III.

Sean Botkin, piano

NORTHERN IOWA SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA

Violin I

Hannah Howland, concertmaster Lydia Pakala Elizabeth Anderson Anne Sloter Rachel Pakala Anna Larson John Chiles Peter Benson

Violin II

Austin Jacobs, principal Julia Hetrick Megan Tomson Taryn Kroymann Anna Marie Black Marissa Gabriel Rvan Joss Gavin McGivney Peter Benson

Viola

Isaak Sund, principal Andrea Sanchez Ruiz Alyssa Adamec Jotham Polashek Kathleen Marston Kristin Woodburn Anjah Droe Hanna Gibson Shelby Welsh Coved Oswald

Cello

Jonathan Haverdink, principal Kyle Geesey Christopher Fenton Wesley Montoya Alexander Mona Seth Engen

Bass

Andrew Braught, principal Joe Mnaver **Zachary Nichols** Alexander Pershounin+

Harp

Gretchen Brumwell+

Flute/Piccolo

Claudia Aizaga **Emily Bicknese** Michelle Meadows Stephanie Thimmesch

Oboe/English Horn

Emily Cornish Heather Peyton+

Clarinet

Arianna Edvenson Stacia Fortune Nicholas Schumacher

Bassoon

Joshua Carlo Victoria Piper

Horn

Aaron Anderson Casey Chlapek Ashlyn Christensen Casey Dirksen

Trumpet

Molly Evans Rishi Kolusu Daniel Meier

Trombone

Jason Andriano Craig Goettle Joshua Piering

Tuba

Taylor Hicks

Timpani/Percussion

Ryan Greiner Katie Hammond Steven Hoopingarner Alex Lafrenz

+UNI Faculty