UNI BANDS

Danny Galyen, Director of Bands Justin Mertz, Associate Director of Bands Susie Grover, Secretary Logan Vander Wiel, Graduate Assistant Chris Copeland, Graduate Assistant Sarah Quesnell, Graduate Assistant

UNI WIND AND PERCUSSION STUDIO FACULTY

Angeleita Floyd, Flute Heather Peyton, Oboe Cayla Bellamy, Bassoon Amanda McCandless, Clarinet Ann Bradfield, Saxophone Randy Grabowski, Trumpet Tina Su, Horn Anthony Williams, Trombone Jesse Orth, Tuba and Euphonium Ryan Frost, Percussion Matt Andrieni, Percussion

In consideration of the performers and other members of the audience, please enter or leave a performance at the end of a composition.

Cameras and recording equipment are **not permitted**. Please turn off all electronic devices, and be sure that all emergency contact cell phones and pagers are set to silent or vibrate.

This event is **free** to all UNI students, courtesy of the Panther Pass Program.

Performances like this are made possible through private support from patrons like you! Please consider contributing to School of Music scholarships or guest artist programs. Call 319-273-3915 or visit www.uni.edu/music to make your gift.



NORTHERN FESTIVAL OF BANDS 2018

NORTHERN IOWA WIND ENSEMBLE UNI Symphonic Band

PROGRAM

UNI Symphonic Band

Justin Mertz, conductor

Cathedrals Kathryn Salfelder (b. 1987)

First Suite in E-Flat for Military Band (Op. 28 No. 1). . . Gustav Holst

- Chaconne (1874 - 1934)Ι.
- Ш. Intermezzo ed. Colin Matthews
- 111. March

Symphonic Dance no. 3, "Fiesta" Clifton Williams (1923 - 1976)

INTERMISSION

Northern Iowa Wind Ensemble

Danny Galyen, conductor

Concerto for Jazz Trombone and Wind Ensemble (2018)

Moderato Michael Conrad i

(b. 1988)

(b. 1973)

Dr. Anthony Williams, trombone

Wine Dark Sea: Symphony for Band (2014) John Mackey

- Hubris
- Immortal thread, so weak ii.
- The attention of souls iii.

ί.

Justin Mertz, conductor

FLUTE Cheyanne Chapin

Abbey Ingwersen Elinor Johll Lauren Mattson Shelby Miller* Laura Stanish

OBOF Annika Andrews*

Abbie Greene

CLARINET Jose Calderon Nathan Dickerson*

Sarina Gretter **Ricky Latham** Ashley McMullin

Claudia Aizaga Anna Cook Tamara Drury* Mackenzie Dugger Shigun Ou

OBOE

FLUTE

Kristin Rasmussen David Thompson* Alex Tjelmeland

CLARINET

Mikaela Dunn Alexis Hahn Tia Heien

Sayyod Mirzomurodov Alissa Ortega Lucas Randall* Emma Schmidt

Ben Medbourn Ashley Richardson **Tina Wichert**

UNI Symphonic Band

TRUMPFT

Jacob Kraber

Logan Mohr*

Andrew Piper

David Thom

Amy Gissel

TROMBONE

Eric Karr

Jack Dunning

Zachary Miller

Sam Ogilvie*

Augustus Geiger

Kathrvn Rech

Sebrina Webster*

HORN

Liz Patrick

Jonathan Kruger

Abigail Murdock

BASSOON

Riley Andreassen Joanna Eyanson Abigail Hunt Katie Plotzke*

SAXOPHONE

Gerardo Gomez* Colton Kurtz Estefania **Ravasio-Corrales** Thomas Sparks Andrea Verburg

FUPHONIUM

Maleah Garwood Brad Lorence Eric Riehle*

TUBA

Alan Beving Nate Jones Aaron Manning Hugh Zehr

PERCUSSION

Seth Chronister Zoey Cobb Brock Davenport Paige McGrath Mack Vos*

Northern Iowa Wind Ensemble

Danny Galyen, conductor

Angela Schwartz Andrew Wiele* Glenn Zimmer

BASSOON Jarod Kral Laura Sabotta*

SAXOPHONE

Andrey Floryanovich Lexi Forstrom Mark Northup* Gage Schmitt

TRUMPET

Sam Anderson Ryan Garmoe Rishi Kolusu Sarah Quesnell

Brenda Sevcik Logan Vander Wiel* Colton Whetstone

HORN Dan Charette Brittany Schultz Ryan Miller*

TROMBONE Collin Krukow Chris Copeland **Michael Stow** Tom Mortenson*

EUPHONIUM Terra Hill

Joseph Morris*

Sam Nau

BASS Andy Braught

Isaac Smith

PIANO

HARP Gretchen Brumwell+

* Section Leader + Faculty Artist

Aaron Unash Madison Mohr

TUBA

Dan Benson*

Adam Denner Chase Pebworth

PERCUSSION

Nick Behrends Kyler Boss* Trevor Else Steven Hoopingarner Tyler Martin Mack Vos Seth Chronister