# **UPCOMING EVENTS**

**CONCERT BAND** 

Monday, February 27, 7:30 p.m. Great Hall, GBPAC

FLUTE CHOIR AND FLUTE STUDIO CONCERT

Tuesday, February 28, 8 p.m. Davis Hall, GBPAC

MARGARITA SHEVCHENKO, PIANO

Wednesday, March 1, 8 p.m. Davis Hall, GBPAC

THE SCHOOL OF MUSIC CALENDAR OF EVENTS IS AVAILABLE ONLINE AT **WWW.UNI.EDU/MUSIC/EVENTS**. TO RECEIVE A HARDCOPY, PLEASE CALL 319-273-2028.

In consideration of the performers and other members of the audience, please enter or leave a performance at the end of a composition.

Cameras and recording equipment are **not permitted**. Please turn off all electronic devices, and be sure that all emergency contact cell phones and pagers are set to silent or vibrate.

This event is free to all UNI students, courtesy of the Panther Pass Program.

Performances like this are made possible through private support from patrons like you! Please consider contributing to School of Music scholarships or guest artist programs. Call 319-273-3915 or visit www.uni.edu/music to make your gift.





# - Premieres -

# NORTHERN IOWA SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA

REBECCA BURKHARDT, CONDUCTOR

JIANG LIU, GUEST CONDUCTOR CHANGQUN AO, XIANG AO AND JONATHAN SCHWABE\*, FEATURED COMPOSERS

> Ross Winter, violin\* Julia Bullard, viola\* Mariya Akhadjanova, piano

# **PROGRAM**

> Mariya Akhadjanova, piano UNI Concerto Contest Winner

II. Andante

III. Presto

Ross Winter, violin, Julia Bullard, viola Jiang Liu, conductor

# INTERMISSION

Mandala (2016) . . . . . . Xiang Ao World Premiere (b. 1982)

The Guilty Fifth (2016) . . . . . . . . . . Jonathan Schwabe World Premiere (b. 1957)

- I. Yueqin Tune
- II. Madrigal
- III. Kouxian Tune

Rebecca Burkhardt, conductor

Please join us for a reception in the lobby following the concert to meet the composers and soloists.

#### Violin I

Hannah Howland, concertmaster Esther Heise Naima Burrs Abigail Moore Lydia Pakala Rachel Pakala Austin Jacobs

#### Violin II

Anna Larson, principal Taryn Kroymann Ebony Watkins Ryan Joss Gavin McGivney McKenzie Carra Jenn Michel John Chiles

#### Viola

Isaak Sund, principal Jotham Polashek Kathleen Marston Andrew Adamec Kailey Stiers Nicole Wollmuth Hanna Gibson Alex Dou

#### Cello

Kyle Geesey, principal Emma Sheckler Kelsey Chidley Christopher Fenton Alexander Mong Amelyn Enriquez Wesley Montoya

#### Bass

Andrew Braught, principal Bridget Shoemaker Clayton Ryan Aaron Stagner Alexander Pershounin\*

### Harp

Gretchen Brumwell\* Cai He

(in alphabetical order)

# Flute/Piccolo

Claudia Aizaga Azeem Ward Shelby Miller

## Oboe/English Horn

Annika Andrews Julian Castillo Heather Peyton\*

## Clarinet/Bass Clarinet

Arianna Edvenson Nicholas Schumacher Emma Schmidt Austin Wright

#### Bassoon/Contrabassoon

Joshua Carlo Annalea Milligan Anya Shorey

#### Horn

Joel Andrews Casey Chlapek Casey Dirksen Ryan Miller

## Trumpet

Rishi Kolusu Daniel Meier Sarah Quesnell

#### Trombone

Jason Andriano Seth Nordin Joshua Piering

### Tuba

Chase Pebworth

# Timpani/Percussion

Michael Bockholt Marshall Egerton Paige McGrath Tyler Martin Javen Nekola Jake Rager

# Piano/Celeste

Andrew Adamec

# Librarian

Anna Larson

# **Graduate Assistant**

Naima Burrs

\*UNI School of Music Faculty