PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS & CONDUCTORS

Algona High School
Aplington-Parkersburg
Cedar Falls High School
Cedar Rapids Kennedy
Cedar Rapids Washington
Cherokee Washington
Clear Creek Amana
Clear Lake High School
Decorah

Dowling Catholic High School

Dubuque Senior East Buchanan Forest City

Gilbert High School Grinnell High School Hampton Dumont

Independence Jr/Sr. High School Iowa Falls - Alden High School

Lawton Bronson
Linn-Mar High School
Mason City High School
New Hampton High School
North Fayette Valley

North Linn Oelwein

Osage High School

Pleasant Valley High School Pleasant Valley High School

Rockford

South Hardin High School

Southeast Polk Senior High School

Spencer High School Springville High School

Van Buren

Vinton-Shellsburg High School

Wapsie Valley

Waterloo East High School

Waverly-Shell Rock Woodward-Granger

Kurt Kissinger Thom Mahler Gerald Ramsey Jared Wacker Jim Miller Joe Vannatta John Smith Brandon Borseth Dustin Bliven Steve Holland William Rowley Ron Landis Corv Schmitt Byron Tinder Levi Dressler Sara Pecinovsky David Lang

Mary Jean Nederhoff
William Kearney
Steve Stickney
Russ Kramer
Justin Adam
Ted Schacherer
Alexa Gibbs
Cory McBride
Jeffrey Kirkpatrick
Drew Anderson
Tara Daurer
Meredith Young

Jacquelyn Meunier Kurt Schwarck Jennifer Adams Marcie Atwood Nick Waymire Nicole Davis Joelle Smith Eric Stover Bryan Willer

Wayne Lu

School of Music University of Northern Iowa

FESTIVAL SYMPHONY BAND

Daniel Bukvich, Conductor

SOLO COMPETITION WINNER

DR. ROBIN GUY. PIANO

GREAT HALL Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center Saturday, February 14, 2015 2:00 p.m.

Dands 2015

PROGRAM

FESTIVAL SYMPHONY BAND

DANIEL BUKVICH, CONDUCTOR

Flag Day Parade
Elida Webb and Flournoy Miller from Ballroom Portraits Bukvich
Tower of the Winds
Buffalo Jump Ritual

Daniel Bukvich was born and raised in Montana, U.S.A., and has taught at the University of Idaho since 1976. He travels (reluctantly) throughout the United States and Canada as a guest composer, conductor, and percussionist in concerts with professional, college, high school, and grade school bands, orchestras, choirs, honor and all-state groups and has been known to appear (possibly as a result of physical threat to his person or family) at similar events in Europe and East Asia.

His teachers have been among the leading composers, conductors, and educators in the Western United States, and Bukvich has absorbed not only their philosophies on music but also their satisfaction with, if not complete desire for, professional and personal obscurity. In fact, he is infamous for being almost impossible to contact due to an extremely busy teaching and composing schedule and his refusal to communicate by any means more modern than face-to-face conversation.

His musical compositions and arrangements are performed by orchestras, choirs, bands, soloists, chamber groups and jazz groups around the world.

FESTIVAL SYMPHONY BAND PERSONNEL

FLUTE

Riley Burgart, New Hampton
Cheyanne Chapin, Forest City
Natalie Formanek, Forest City
Vanessa Harding, Springville
Molly Hunter, Cedar Rapids Washington
Rachel Ingle, Woodward-Granger
Abbey Ingwersen, North Linn
Hayley Miller, Hampton Dumont
Amanda Taylor, Decorah
McKenna Woods, Cedar Rapids Kennedy

OBOE

Olivia Dunn, Waverly-Shell Rock Brenna Hermann, Decorah Lexi Hicok, Vinton-Shellsburg Rachel Nettleton, Forest City Ivy Pruisman, Clear Lake Joshua Yem, Linn-Mar

BASSOON

Ian Klopfenstein, Cedar Rapids Washington Maddie Roach, Algona Hannah Vaughan, Forest City Kathryn Waddell, Linn-Mar

CLARINET

Lainey Arians, Clear Lake Madison Bemus, Cedar Rapids Washington Hannah Coates, Aplington-Parkersburg Lindsey Eades, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Tara Geiken, Iowa Falls - Alden Laura Gibson, Cedar Rapids Washington Mickella Lamb, Aplinaton-Parkersburg Katie Melbourne, Pleasant Vallev Isabel Neeley, Van Buren Callie Ochs, Cedar Rapids Washington Simon Olivares, Forest City Kendra Peterson, Vinton-Shellsbura Julia Pohlman, Cedar Rapids Washington Johnathan Sanasinh, Forest City Emma Schmidt, Algona High School Susan Schwickerath, New Hampton Elizabeth Swanson, Cedar Falls Sam Werner, Cedar Rapids Washington Miles Wilkie, Decorah Glenn Zimmer, Cherokee Washington

LOW CLARINET

Leif Albertson, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Alissa Kozelka, Decorah Michael Stevens, Pleasant Valley

ALTO SAXOPHONE

Rebecca Buchanan, Hampton Dumont Andrey Floryanovich, Clear Creek Amana Lexi Forstrom, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Peter Jorgenson, Algona

TENOR SAXOPHONE

Jack Ralls, Algona Chase Rust, Rockford

BARITONE SAXOPHONE

Jessica Meier, Osage Jonah Pedelty, Clear Lake

HORN

Evan Brown, Linn-Mar Jessica Fuller, Dubuque Senior Spencer Hickman, Pleasant Valley Alice Kirsch, Linn-Mar Ryan Miller, Cedar Rapids Washington Gavin Popken, New Hampton Althea Throndson, New Hampton Ervin Yahr II, Decorah

TRUMPET

Sydney Atwood, Van Buren Elizabeth Chapman, Springville Ben Christensen, Linn-Mar Heidi Davenport, Cedar Rapids Washington Mitchell Gage, New Hampton Allison Green, Linn-Mar Cooper Horning, Clear Creek Amana Madison Ihde, Decorah Aunna Marzen, Independence Jr/Sr. High Melissa Olivares, Dubuque Senior

TROMBONE

Joseph Clark, Osage
Emma Dambek, Decorah
Chris Godwin, Rockford
Makayla Kadner, Grinnell
Allison Kimball, East Buchanan CSD
Jonathon Miller, Cedar Rapids Washington
Tanner Smoley, Forest City
Kiersten Truax, Aplington-Parkersburg
Jacob Wessels, Dubuque Senior
Paul Woodhouse, Cedar Rapids Washington

EUPHONIUM

Catrina Bruns, Decorah Alyson Cummings, Cedar Rapids Washington Andrew Hillman, Pleasant Valley Emily Tull, North Linn

TUBA

Michael Arkenberg, Cedar Rapids Washington Adam Denner, Algona Freddie Paulson, Decorah Abby Rioux, Gilbert

PERCUSSION

Micah Bang, Forest City Scott Eiklenborg, Aplington-Parkersburg Nicholaus Green, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Sean McLaughlin, Pleasant Valley Cooper Schou, Pleasant Valley Stuart Yi, Forest City