PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS & CONDUCTORS

Algona High School
Aplington-Parkersburg
Cedar Falls High School
Cedar Rapids Kennedy
Cedar Rapids Washington
Cherokee Washington
Clear Creek Amana
Clear Lake High School

Decorah

Dowling Catholic High School

Dubuque Senior East Buchanan Forest City

Gilbert High School Grinnell High School Hampton Dumont

Independence Jr/Sr. High School Iowa Falls - Alden High School

Lawton Bronson Linn-Mar High School Mason City High School New Hampton High School

North Fayette Valley

North Linn Oelwein

Osage High School

Pleasant Valley High School Pleasant Valley High School

Rockford

South Hardin High School

Southeast Polk Senior High School

Spencer High School Springville High School

Van Buren

Vinton-Shellsburg High School

Wapsie Valley

Waterloo East High School

Waverly-Shell Rock Woodward-Granger Kurt Kissinger Thom Mahler

Gerald Ramsev

Jared Wacker

Jim Miller Joe Vannatta

John Smith Brandon Borseth

Dustin Bliven
Steve Holland

William Rowley

Ron Landis Cory Schmitt

Byron Tinder Levi Dressler

Sara Pecinovsky

David Lang

Mary Jean Nederhoff

William Kearney Steve Stickney Russ Kramer Justin Adam Ted Schacherer

Ted Schacherer Alexa Gibbs

Cory McBride
Jeffrey Kirkpatrick
Drew Anderson

Drew Anderson
Tara Daurer
Meredith Young

Wayne Lu

Jacquelyn Meunier

Kurt Schwarck Jennifer Adams Marcie Atwood Nick Waymire Nicole Davis

Joelle Smith Eric Stover Bryan Willer School of Music University of Northern Iowa

FESTIVAL CONCERT BAND

ANDREW MAST, CONDUCTOR

FESTIVAL PERCUSSION GROUP
RANDY HOGANCAMP. DIRECTOR

GREAT HALL Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center Saturday, February 14, 2015 2:00 p.m.

2015

PROGRAM

FESTIVAL CONCERT BAND

ANDREW MAST, CONDUCTOR

Andrew Mast is Associate Professor of Music and Director of Bands at the Lawrence University Conservatory of Music, the position he has held since the fall of 2004. He conducts the Wind Ensemble and Symphonic Band while teaching courses in band history, conducting and music education. Prior to his appointment at Lawrence, he was Director of Bands at St. Ambrose University in Davenport, lowa where he was selected as the Outstanding Faculty member for the 2003-2004 year. There he conducted the Symphonic Band and University/Community Orchestra, taught conducting and music education classes and served as department chair. He also conducted the Quad City Wind Ensemble and founded the Quad City Area Youth Wind Symphony.

In May of 2006 he was a guest conductor for the Pilsen Conservatory in the Czech Republic and bands under his direction have appeared at several conferences. During the summers of 2002-04 he was on the conducting faculty of the Interlochen Arts Camp. He received his Doctorate of Musical Arts in Band Conducting from the University of Iowa in May of 2000 where his mentor was Dr. Myron Welch. His dissertation was "The History of the Mason City (Iowa) Community and High School Bands, 1920-1999."

Prior to pursuing doctoral work, Mast was Director of Bands at Shakopee High School in Shakopee, Minnesota. During this time he received his Master of Arts degree in Music Education from the University of Minnesota where he worked with Craig Kirchhoff and Paul Haack. He received his Bachelor of Music Education degree from the University of Iowa in 1989.

Dr. Mast's professional affiliations include the College Band Director's National Association, National Band Association, Music Educator's National Conference, Iowa Bandmaster's Association and the World Association of Symphonic Bands and Ensembles. He is the founder and president of the Vincent Persichetti Society. He has made scholarly contributions to The Instrumentalist, Journal of Band Research, the Teaching Music Through Performance in Band series and The Annals of Iowa.

FESTIVAL CONCERT BAND PERSONNEL

FLUTE

Hayley Carroll, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Frances Conley, Cherokee Washington Catherine Glackin, Spencer Emma Graening, Waverly-Shell Rock Katie Hirv, Rockford Kira Johnson, East Buchanan CSD Stephanie Nettleton, Forest City Carrie Peterson, Pleasant Valley Laura Stanish, South Hardin Claire Thomsen, Pleasant Valley

OBOE

Alexis Doremus, Dubuque Senior Allyson Kegel, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Kaylee Knight, Decorah Alyssa Lee, Osage Logan Stenseth, Cedar Rapids Washington Keshav Wagle, Pleasant Valley

BASSOON

Nick Jacobson, Grinnell

CLARINET

Ian Aplington, Pleasant Valley
Heather Gonterman, East Buchanan CSD
Alexis Green, Cedar Rapids Kennedy
Samantha Hood, Algona
Katelyn Maliszewski, Osage
Sydney Mertens, North Linn
Kaitlynn Miller, Hampton Dumont
Lindsey Miller, Vinton-Shellsburg
Anna Ridnour, Cedar Rapids Kennedy
Jenna Ruccolo, Pleasant Valley
Sophie Stolte, Springville
Maureen Thomsen, Pleasant Valley

LOW CLARINET

Kelsey Andersen, Rockford Jadah Koob, Oelwein

ALTO SAXOPHONE

Amelia Hansen, Algona Chandler Hohbach, Cherokee Washington Paige Kizer, Dubuque Senior Matthew Nelson, Pleasant Valley Mason Timmerman, Cherokee Washington

TENOR SAXOPHONE

Oleg Heimovics, Clear Creek Amana Noah Solheim, Waverly-Shell Rock Everett Wegge, Decorah

BARITONE SAXOPHONE

Clare Conley, Cherokee Washington JP Ryal, Mason City

HORN

Genna Bertram, Forest City
Dan Feldhake, Waverly-Shell Rock
Madison Kleveland, Forest City
Victoria Marcum, Linn-Mar
Myra Meyer, Algona
Lauren Naastrom, Osage
Irene Swanson, Clear Lake
Kasey Thompson, Decorah
John Woodhouse, Cedar Rapids Washington

TRUMPET

Kali Aissen, Waverly-Shell Rock Jaden Alamsya, Forest City Carlee Bertram, Hampton Dumont Caleb Claycamp, Cherokee Washington Aspen Geraghty, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Ethan Good, Pleasant Valley Rebecca Hommez, Algona Matthew Huisman, Osage Peter Mills, Pleasant Valley Ethan Torkelson, Forest City

TROMBONE

Michael Harrison, Dubuque Senior JaNiese Jensen, Dubuque Senior Caleb Mason, Springville Kellen Schmidt, Algona Ian Smith, Decorah Seth Truex, Iowa Falls - Alden Tommy West, Forest City Dusty Wright, Cherokee Washington

EUPHONIUM

Libby Gibson, Cedar Rapids Washington Matthew Lang, Springville

TUBA

Megan Fields, Waterloo East Collin Halligan, Oelwein Nick McSpadden, Cedar Rapids Kennedy John Petrzelka, Clear Creek Amana Sam Schmidt, Vinton-Shellsburg

PERCUSSION

Kyle Johnson, Cherokee Washington Tracy Lansing, Linn-Mar Anna Sauerbrei, Wapsie Valley Sam Snyder, Forest City Shaden Tweeten, Forest City Cassie Williams, North Linn