PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS & CONDUCTORS

Kurt Kissinger Thomas Mahler Jennifer Keys Gerald Ramsey Jared Wacker James Miller Joel Nagel Joe Vannatta Brandon Borseth **Charles Mausser** Alexander Wilga Aaron Ottmar Dustin Bliven David Brown **Gregory Dowe** William Rowley Joe Overton Cory Schmitt Levi Dressler Carl Kurth Laura Garred David Lang Mary Jean Nederhoff Aaron Nuss David Kunz Arnold Anderson A J Skinner Chelsey Eisenhauer Jeffrey Kirkpatrick Drew Anderso Tara Daurer Chelsea Hill Meghan Powell Alexa Gibbs Wayne Lu James Vowels

Algona Aplington-Parkersburg Carroll Cedar Falls Cedar Rapids Kennedy Cedar Rapids Washington Cedar Rapids Washington Cherokee Washington Clear Lake Columbus Catholic (Waterloo) **Davenport Central** Davis County Decorah **Des Moines North Dubuque Hempstead Dubuque Senior** Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Forest City Grinnell Hampton-Dumont Hinton Independence Iowa Falls-Alden Linn-Mar Mid-Prairie New London Newman Catholic (Mason City) North Linn Osage Pleasant Valley Pleasant Valley Rudd-Rockford-Marble Rock Sioux Center South Hamilton South Hardin Waverly-Shell Rock

Festival Symphony Band

E

R

E S LAWRENCE HARPER AND RICHARD FISCHER, CONDUCTORS

GREAT HALL Gallagher Bluedorn Performing Arts Center Saturday, February 11, 2017 2:00 p.m.

Festival Symphony Band Lawrence Harper and Richard Fischer, Conductors

Solo Competition Winner Dr. Robin Guy, piano

Joy in All ThingsBrian Balmages
Wayfaring Stranger Resources Christopher Nelson
Mr. Fischer
Danzon No. 2
Mr. Harper

Dr. Richard Fischer, Distinguished Professor of Music and the Fred and Jane Wittlinger Endowed Chair for Music Performance, is in his 43rd year as director of bands at Concordia University Chicago, River Forest, III. He holds the bachelor of music education and master of music degrees from De Paul University and the doctor of musical arts degree from Michigan State University. He has also studied at Cornell College in Mt. Vernon, Iowa and the University of Northern Colorado. At Concordia University, Dr. Fischer conducts the Wind Symphony and University Band. He teaches basic and advanced level conducting courses.

Since Fischer's arrival in 1974, the Wind Symphony has performed concerts in 43 states and Canada. In May 2001, the Wind Symphony toured Germany, the Czech Republic, Poland, Hungary and Slovakia. Since 2005, the ensemble has toured China three times. This ensemble will tour South Africa May, 2017. The Wind Symphony performed at the 24th National Conference of the College Band Directors National Association (CBDNA) in 1987, the 2003 Illinois Music Educators Conference and has recorded 15 compact discs of sacred wind music. In the fall of 1995, the ensemble performed two concerts at The Symphony Center in Chicago. The Wind Symphony has also performed at the Lutheran Education Association conventions in Minneapolis, Indianapolis, Cincinnati, Grand Rapids and Milwaukee. The Wind Symphony was invited to perform as the "showcase ensemble" for the New York City Wind Band Festival at Carnegie Hall on March 4, 2014.

Dr. Fischer is in demand internationally as a presenter, guest conductor, clinician and adjudicator. In January 2012, he conducted the Illinois All-State Band in Peoria, and in February 2012 conducted the high school honor band at the Dorian Festival at Luther College. Fischer has conducted the National Youth Gathering Wind Symphony in Orlando (2004 and 2007), at the Superdome in New Orleans (2010 and 2016), and at the Alamodome in San Antonio (2013). In 1994, he was named to the "A Team" of University Professors by the Chicago Tribune. Fischer was communications director for the World Association for Symphonic Bands and Ensembles (WASBE) in preparation for the 1995 conference in Hamamatsu, Japan. From 1988 to 2010, Fischer served as music director for Ballet LeGere's production of the Nutcracker Ballet and, for 17 years, served as the assistant conductor of the Symphony of Oak Park and River Forest. Dr. Fischer has presented at conferences in the United States, Canada, South Africa and Australia.

For Lawrence Harper's Profile, please see Concert Band program.

FESTIVAL SYMPHONY BAND PERSONNEL

FLUTE

Fran Conley, Cherokee Washington Chloe Dugas, Grinnell Catherine Glackin, Spencer Greer Henderson, Waverly Shell Rock Emily Hrabik, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Emma Fassbinder, Dubuque Hempstead Caitlyn Keseberg, Waverly Shell Rock Stephanie Nettleton, Forest City High School Carrie Peterson, Pleasant Valley Laura Stanish, South Hardin Claire Thomsen, Pleasant Valley

OBOE

Robert Clower, Grinnell Alexis Doremus, Dubuque Senior Allyson Kegel, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Alyssa Lee, Osage Logan Stenseth, Cedar Rapids Washington Keshav Wagle, Pleasant Valley

BASSOON

Zeb Binneboese, Hinton Burke Wallace, Waverly Shell Rock

CLARINET

Ian Aplington, Pleasant Valley Roxanna Barbulescu Isabel de la Cruz Hexom, Decorah Alexis Green, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Jonathan Hahm, Pleasant Valley Alexis Hahn, Cedar Falls Sam Hood, Igona Lily Ladwig, Carroll Abbi Parcher, Clear Lake Millenama Prasai, Pleasant Valley Sarah Riesberg, Carroll Maddie Sims, Spencer Maureen Thomsen, Pleasant Valley Stephanie Walton, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Laura Westercamp, Davis County Tina Wichert, Center Point-Urbana Ellie Zupancic, Pleasant Valley

BASS CLARINET

Kallie Broderick, Osage Oliva Heckel, Pleasant Valley Grace Morris, Davis County Lauryn Weiss, Mid-Prairie

ALTO SAXOPHONE

Claire Boots, Waverly Shell Rock Chandler Hohbach, Cherokee Washington Paige Kizer, Dubuque Senior Maggie Levandoski, Grinnell Matthew Nelson, Pleasant Valley Mason Timmerman, Cherokee Washington

TENOR SAXOPHONE

Brandi Lawrence, Iowa Falls - Alden Noah Solheim, Waverly Shell Rock Everett Wegge, Decorah

BARITONE SAXOPHONE

Clare Conley, Cherokee Washington Maria Kuiper, Waverly-Shell Rock Maddie McClure, Davis County

HORN

Genevieve Bertram, Forest City Dan Feldhake, Waverly Shell Rock Bridget Gervais, Des Moines North Tierany Jewett, New London Madison Kleveland, Forest City Myra Meyer, Algona Irene Swanson, Clear Lake John Woodhouse, Cedar Rapids Washington

TRUMPET

Kali Aissen, Waverly Shell Rock Jaden Alamsya, Forest City Carlee Bertram, Hampton Dumont Nathan Bowman, Hinton Ethan Good, Pleasant Valley Rebecca Hommez, Algona Johnathon Kruger, Waverly-Shell Rock Peter Mills, Pleasant Valley Derek TenPas, Sioux Center

TROMBONE

Brandon Dicks, Eddyville Blakesburg Fremont Jeneé Eden, Algona Adam Gruman, Grinnell JaNiese Jensen, Dubuque Senior Justin Moore, Cedar Rapids Washington Emily Perrott, Waverly Shell Rock Kellen Schmidt, Algona Jordan Stuckmyer, Davis County Dusty Wright, Cherokee Washington

EUPHONIUM

Jamal Cheatham, Dubuque Senior Olivia Dagel, Cherokee Washington Brian Dennis, Davenport Central Libby Gibson, Cedar Rapids Washington Joseph Horne, Cedar Rapids Kennedy

TUBA

Karter Anderson, Clear Lake Izaak Farrer, Hinton Emily Tigges, Dubuque Senior Jake Varner, Linn-Mar

PERCUSSION

Anthony Caganelli, Dubuquer Senior Reanna Campbell, Grinnell Miles Damaso, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Alexa Gormley, Linn-Mar Becca Turnis, Cedar Rapids Washington Shaden Tweeten, Forest City Maggie Wright, Cedar Rapids Washington