PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS & CONDUCTORS

Kurt Kissinger Thomas Mahler Jennifer Keys Gerald Ramsey Jared Wacker James Miller Joel Nagel Joe Vannatta Brandon Borseth **Charles Mausser** Alexander Wilga Aaron Ottmar Dustin Bliven David Brown **Gregory Dowe** William Rowley Joe Overton Cory Schmitt Levi Dressler Carl Kurth Laura Garred David Lang Mary Jean Nederhoff Aaron Nuss David Kunz Arnold Anderson A J Skinner Chelsey Eisenhauer Jeffrey Kirkpatrick Drew Anderso Tara Daurer Chelsea Hill Meghan Powell Alexa Gibbs Wayne Lu James Vowels

Algona Aplington-Parkersburg Carroll Cedar Falls Cedar Rapids Kennedy Cedar Rapids Washington Cedar Rapids Washington Cherokee Washington Clear Lake Columbus Catholic (Waterloo) **Davenport Central** Davis County Decorah Des Moines North **Dubuque Hempstead Dubuque Senior** Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Forest City Grinnell Hampton-Dumont Hinton Independence Iowa Falls-Alden Linn-Mar Mid-Prairie New London Newman Catholic (Mason City) North Linn Osage Pleasant Valley Pleasant Valley Rudd-Rockford-Marble Rock Sioux Center South Hamilton South Hardin Waverly-Shell Rock

University of 'Northerı

Festival Concert Band

E

R

F

E S LAWRENCE HARPER AND RICHARD FISCHER, CONDUCTORS

GREAT HALL Gallagher Bluedorn Performing Arts Center Saturday, February 11, 2017 2:00 p.m.

Program

FESTIVAL CONCERT BAND Lawrence Harper and Richard Fischer, conductors

Festival Percussion Group Matthew Andreini and Ryan Frost, leaders

Blackwater
Earthdance Michael Sweeney
Mr. Harper
Rippling WatercolorsBrian Balmages
Iberian Escapades Robert Sheldon
Mr. Fischer

LAWRENCE DALE HARPER is Director of Bands and conductor of the Wind Symphony at Carroll University, a position he has held for the past 30 years. From 1986-97, he was the Music Director and Conductor of the Waukesha Area Symphonic Band and has been the conductor of one of the few professional wind ensembles in the world, the Wisconsin Wind Orchestra, since its founding in 1995. He has brought these ensembles to local and regional prominence through innovative programming, CD releases, commissioning and premiering new works, performing at major concert halls and conferences throughout the state, and hosting internationally recognized composers and conductors. In a review of the Wisconsin Wind Orchestra's CD, Old Wine in New Bottles, The American Record Guide said, "Listening to these readings of excellent wind band literature is a lovely listening experience," and called the conductor "a stickler for detail, a motivator, and a first-rate musician who brings nuance and insight to a piece of music."

Harper has served as a clinician and guest conductor throughout the United States, as well as in Central America, Europe, and the Middle East. He was an invited speaker and guest conductor at the 50th Anniversary Conference of the Eastman Wind Ensemble where he presented his research on the West Point Military Academy Band Commissions of 1952 and guest conducted the West Point Military Band. He has twice appeared as conductor at the famed Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, in concerts and radio broadcasts both with his own Wisconsin Wind Orchestra and with the Holland Wind Players, one of Europe's leading professional wind ensembles. He has also served as a guest teacher of conducting at several universities around the world—from the University of Wisconsin to the University of Pécs, Hungary, and the National Institute of Music of Costa Rica. He has appeared in concert with other distinguished college and university wind ensembles such as those at the University of Massachusetts—Amherst and California State University—Northridge, as well as with the National Symphony Orchestra of Costa Rica.

Dr. Harper is an active member of the College Band Directors National Association and the World Association of Symphonic Bands and Ensembles, a group for which he served as the chair of the Professional Band Network.

FESTIVAL CONCERT BAND PERSONNEL

FLUTE

Octavia Barbulescu, Linn-Mar Avery Burton, Davis County Katie Halverson, Spencer Grace Henrich, Newman Catholic Ally Larson, Forest City Ryan McLerran, New London Lily Nosalek, Iowa Falls - Alden Madison Rediske, Waverly-Shell Rock Kendall Stenseth, Cedar Rapids Washington Grace Watson, Columbus Shelby Weier, Algona Emily Willadsen, South Hamilton

OBOE

Amey Shedinger, Decorah Tim Swanson, Clear Lake Alexa Timmerman, Cherokee Washington Sydney Truex, Iowa Falls - Alden High

BASSOON

Ella Carlson, South Hamilton Rachel Lursen, Clear Lake Zach Self, Aplington-Parkersburg Alisanne Strucjk, Washington

CLARINET

Paige Amsberry, Waverly Shell Rock Cassidy Carolan, Decorah Ashley DeLong, Clear Lake Sarah Gaul, Aplington-Parkersburg Avery Hale, Iowa Falls - Alden Mya Herrmann, Decorah Rylie Johnson, Davis County Cameron Johnson, Rudd-Rockford-Marble Rock Shreya Khurjekar, Pleasant Valley Danielle Lundtvedt, Decorah Hannah Meyer, Algona Brenna Morley, Pleasant Valley Elyse Payne, South Hamilton Patricia Redington, Linn-Mar Jasmine Sanasinh, Forest City Madison Strait, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Kassidy Stremler, Davis County Sky Toyne, Clear Lake Emma VandeLune, Cherokee Washington Kinsey Voss, Cherokee Washington Emma Ware, Grinnell High School Kylie Weier, Algona High School

BASS CLARINET

Aaron Deiber, South Hamilton Elise Siebels, Cedar Rapids Kennedy

ALTO SAXOPHONE

Ryan Burrack, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Beth Dix, Waverly Shell Rock Greta Henderson, Waverly Shell Rock Levi Rees, Spencer Kara Reineke, Clear Lake Justin Yem, Linn-Mar

TENOR SAXOPHONE

Jaydn Basten, Dubuque Senior Molly Duffield, Davis County Carlie Seuferer, South Hamilton

BARITONE SAXOPHONE

Celina Feldhake, Waverly Shell Rock Zoe Marquis, Newman Catholic Carson Weichers, Aplington Parkersburg

HORN

Regan Breen, Pleasant Valley Ryan Gruman, Grinnell Jaeden Hansen, Linn-Mar Natalie Jefson, Forest City Madi Korthals, Forest City Hailey Kube, Iowa Falls - Alden Nathan Morton, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Mya O'Connell, Newman Catholic Ashley Schmidt, Linn-Mar

TRUMPET

Rebeccah Christensen, Clear Lake Zack Huffman, Iowa Falls - Alden Ben Lepsch, Linn-Mar Grace McCartan, Carroll Alyssa Mertens, North Linn Landon Miller, Decorah Gannon Oberhauser, Aplington-Parkersburg Keturah Sauke, Hampton Dumont Gwen Thorne, Aplington-Parkersburg

TROMBONE

Faith Cross, North Linn Kaya Hougen, Decorah Noah Keller, Linn-Mar Kate Klarenbeek, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Jose Nino, Grinnell Madison Portratz, Waverly Shell Rock Gina Prosser, Pleasant Valley Isaac Ptacek, Cedar Rapids Kennedy Theo Swanson, Clear Lake Solomon Thompson, Decorah Sam Wilson, Decorah

EUPHONIUM

Jaden Anderson, Hinton Tara Kastendick, Grinnell Sam Potter, Waverly Shell Rock

TUBA

Hannah Anderson, Independence Alysson Farley, New London Anna Hackbarth, Iowa Falls - Alden David Krumm, Grinnell Dawson Mueggenberg, South Hamilton Brandon Nolin, Spencer Gabe Staudt, Forest City

PERCUSSION

Courtney Aden, Cherokee Washington Drake Bang, Forest City Lydia Davidson, Davis County Lewis Kleman, Cedar Rapids Washington Ben Schlamp, Aplington-Parkersburg