UPCOMING EVENTS

Concert Band Thursday, April 4 at 7:30 p.m. Davis Hall, GBPAC

Faculty Saxophone Quartet Friday, April 5 at 6 p.m. Davis Hall, GBPAC

In consideration of the performers and other members of the audience, please enter or leave a performance at the end of a composition. Cameras and recording equipment are **not permitted**. Please turn off all electronic devices, and be sure that all emergency contact cell phones and pagers are set to silent or vibrate. In the event of an emergency, please use the exit nearest to you. Please contact the usher staff if you need assistance.

This event is **free** to all UNI students, courtesy of the Panther Pass Program.

The University of Northern Iowa honors the ancestral stewards of the land on which our university rests. Through the work we do every day to live our mission, the University of Northern Iowa aspires for you to see a community that: honors Native and Indigenous People and culture, lives the 7th Generation Principle, does good for the people and communities we serve, and embraces stewardship of our mission and land. Please see our full stewardship statement at president.uni.edu/stewardship-statement.

Performances like this are made possible through private support from patrons like you! Please consider contributing to School of Music scholarships or guest artist programs. Call 319-273-3915 or visit www.uni.edu/music to make your gift.

EMERGING ARTIST COMPETITION

coordinated by Heather Peyton



SCHOOLOFMUSIC

Program

Sonatine pour Trompette I. Prelude II. Sarabande III. Gigue	Jean Françaix (1912-1997)
Megan I	Bennett, trumpet Botkin, piano
	Yasuo Sueyoshi (1937-2018) ndres, marimba
/ Iden E	narcs, maninoa
I. Allegro moderato Lauren	63 Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) Geerlings, violin a Hou, piano
Trombone Concerto, op. 114 II. Adagio III. Presto	Derek Bourgeois (1941-2017)
Levi Temple, trombone Natia Shioshvili, piano	
II. The Wailing Fish I. Life in the Sea Claire Useld	Lucy Armstrong (b. 1991) ing, alto saxophone hioshvili, piano
I. Freely III. Headbanging Lauren	Geerlings, oboe a Hou, piano
I. Andante Con Moto-Al Nathan Boor	Eric Ewazen legro Vivace (b. 1954) man, bass trombone hioshvili, piano

ABOUT THE ARTISTS

Megan Bennett is in her third year of studies at the University of Northern lowa where she is pursuing a dual major in Trumpet Performance and Music Education. At UNI she is section leader of the Wind Ensemble, principal trumpet with the UNI Symphony Orchestra, a member of Jazz Band One, and performs with the Biscotti Brass. In 2023 she was the winner of the Fort Dodge Young Artist competition in which she performed the Neruda Trumpet Concerto. In addition, Megan is a past winner of the UNI Northern Festival of Bands Concerto Competition, past finalist in both the 2022 and 2023 UNI Concerto Competition, and has been a featured soloist with the Cedar Rapids Municipal Band. Outside of UNI, she has performed with the Waterloo Cedar Falls Symphony Orchestra, the Five Seasons Chamber Music Festival, KCCK's Summer Jazz Camp, and the Cedar Rapids Municipal Band. She is a student of Dr. Randy Grabowski.

Aiden Endres, a third-year Percussion Performance Major, hails from Minnesota. He is a versatile performer across campus and leads his jazz fusion band in the Midwest. Aiden recently earned an honorable mention in the University's Concerto Competition and secured a position as Section Percussionist/Assistant Timpanist with a symphony in Illinois. Passionate about his craft, he seeks mentorship from professionals such as Erich Rieppel and intends to continue percussion performance in graduate school.

Lauren Geerlings is a junior at the University of Northern Iowa studying violin & oboe performance under the direction of Dr. Nash Ryder and Dr. Heather Peyton. She is currently involved in numerous ensembles and student organizations including the Northern Iowa Symphony Orchestra, Wind Ensemble, Petrichord String Quartet, Sigma Alpha Iota, UNI SoM student support team, NISO student leadership committee, and SoM Student Advisory Board. Following graduation, Lauren plans on attending graduate school for her Masters in violin performance.

Levi Temple is a performer/composer/recording artist/future educator from Monticello, Iowa. He is currently in his Junior year at the University of Northern Iowa, working towards his Bachelor's Degree in Music Education - Jazz/General - under the tutelage of Dr. Anthony Williams and Prof. Chris Merz. He is the 2021 recipient of UNI's Thomas Capps Jazz Scholarship as well as the 2021 winner of Iowa's Major Landers Competition for future music educators. **Claire Uselding** is a third-year music education major with a jazz emphasis. She is currently playing in Wind Ensemble, Jazz Band One, and a saxophone quartet. Claire has been teaching private saxophone lessons through UNI's Community Music School for the last three semesters.

Nathan Boorman is a trombonist and educator from Urbandale, Iowa, currently attending UNI for a degree in Music Education/Jazz. Nathan hopes to teach elementary or middle school band upon graduation. Playing with numerous ensembles in his time at UNI including Jazz Bands and Combos, the Northern Iowa Symphony Orchestra, and the Panther Marching Band for two seasons.

PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARD

You may vote for tonight's People's Choice Award, through a web browser or by text.

On the web: visit PollEv.com/hpeyton

By text: text HPEYTON to 22333 once to join, then text A, B, C, D, E or F.

A – Megan Bennett B – Aiden Endres C – Lauren Geerlings D – Levi Temple E – Claire Uselding F – Nathan Boorman

TONIGHT'S AWARDS

Congratulations and many thanks to all students who auditioned in the Preliminary Round on Thursday, March 28, 2024.

Many thanks to the Preliminary Round Adjudication Panel: Korey Barrett, Heather Hamilton, and John Hines

Many thanks also to tonight's Finals Round Adjudication Panel: Tyler Hendrickson, Andrea Johnson, and Hannah Porter-Occeña

PLEASE JOIN US IN THE LOBBY AFTER THE CONCERT FOR THE ANNOUNCEMENT OF AWARDS.

THE FOLLOWING AWARDS WILL BE PRESENTED:

CHARLES AND MARLETA MATHESON AWARD: \$2000 FULLERTON-CURTIS AWARD: \$1,500 Myron and Ruth Russell Award: \$1000 As well as your choice for the "People's Choice Award"