UPCOMING EVENTS

Jazz Band Two Wednesday, April 17, 7:30 p.m. Bengtson Auditorium, Russell Hall

> **Wind Ensemble** Thursday, April 18, 7:30 p.m. Great Hall, GBPAC

GUEST RECITAL: MARY BAILEY, OBOE

Friday, April 19, 6 p.m. Davis Hall, GBPAC

THE SCHOOL OF MUSIC CALENDAR OF EVENTS IS AVAILABLE ONLINE AT **MUSIC.UNI.EDU/EVENTS**. TO RECEIVE A HARDCOPY, PLEASE CALL 319-273-2028.

In consideration of the performers and other members of the audience, please enter or leave a performance at the end of a composition. Cameras and recording equipment are **not permitted**. Please turn off all electronic devices, and be sure that all emergency contact cell phones and pagers are set to silent or vibrate. In the event of an emergency, please use the exit nearest to you. Please contact the usher staff if you need assistance.

This event is **free** to all UNI students, courtesy of the Panther Pass Program.

Performances like this are made possible through private support from patrons like you! Please consider contributing to School of Music scholarships or guest artist programs. Call 319-273-3915 or visit www.uni.edu/music to make your gift.



School of Music University of Northern Iowa

- SPOTLIGHT SERIES -

UNIVERSITY OF NORTHERN IOWA SYMPHONIC BAND

JUSTIN J. MERTZ, CONDUCTOR

AND

UNIVERSITY OF NORTHERN IOWA CONCERT BAND

MEREDITH TIPPING AND CHRISTOPHER COPELAND, CONDUCTORS

Program

Symphonic Band

- BRIEF SET CHANGE -

CONCERT BAND

God of our Fathersarr. Claude T. Smith (1932-1987)	
Meredith Tipping, conductor	
Tirana	
Tribute	
Moorside March from A Moorside Suite	
- Brief Set Change -	
Symphonic Band	
The Thunderer (1889/1998) John Philip Sousa (1854-1932) ed. Keith Brion and Loras Schissel	
Symphony on Themes of John Philip Sousa (1991) Ira Hearshen II. After "The Thunderer" (b. 1948)	
Fantasy Variations on a Theme by Niccolo Paganini (1988) James Barnes (b. 1949)	

UNI SYMPHONIC BAND Gerardo Gomez

Tim Schmidt

Andrea Verburg*

Trumpet

Kali Aissen

Morgan Eadie^

Jonathon Kruger

Dino Kudic

Logan Mohr*

Abby Murdock^

Liz Patrick

Andrew Piper

Ben Thessen

Horn

Nick Stow

Irene Swanson

Sebrina Webster

Ashley Webb

Elsa Wemhoff*

Trombone

Jason Andriano

Chayla Besonen

Jack Dunning*

Josh Piering

Kellen Schmidt

Euphonium

Nic Englin

UNI CONCERT BAND

Flute Elinor Johll

Kat Lothian Shelby Miller Kelsey Minor Bethany Olson Kameron Reed Laura Stanish*

Oboe Abbie Greene* Caroline McReynolds

> Bassoon Abbie Hunt* Nathan Joy Erica Knudson

Clarinet Jose Calderon Kara Gootee Anna Hanbeck Ricky Latham Kennedy Lewis* Abbi Parcher Angel Ramirez Taylor Satibanchong Ethan Staples

> **Saxophone** Jonathan Green

> > Flute

Cheyenne Chapin

Katie Currier

Mary Kieffer

Abigail Ingwersen

Timarie LaFoy

Sabrina Wiebold

Clarinet

Molly Engle

Skylar Lindeman

Lille Murphy

Angel Ramirez

Taylor Sandven

Bass Clarinet

Chris Wichert

Saxophone Elliott Britt Kayla Dustin Vienna Greenway Kaleb Mast

> Trumpet Sydney Barnum Karissa Jensen Aaron Kirchman Matt Kapka Gavin Knott Ellie Haan Greg Novey Samuel Smith Sierra Steen

Trombone Tabitha Alitz Brad Lorence*

Tuba

Alan Beving Aaron Manning* Hugh Zehr

Percussion

Seth Chronister* Brock Davenport Gerald Ehrman Alfred Koh Nicole Loftus Kane Olesen Mack Vos^

Harp Gretchen Brumwell+

String Bass Michael Gedden

Librarian Sebrina Webster

* = Section Leader + = Faculty Artist ^ = Member of the UNI Wind Ensemble assisting with tonight's performance

Chance Elton Eric Karr Cole Kern Elizabeth Schechinger

Euphonium

Zach Eberle Noah Huff Eric Riehle

Tuba Freddie Paulson

Percussion Bethany Brooks Laura Kaufmann Ethan Newbrough Jesse Polanco Will Rothfus Rachel Vaughan