UNI School of Music

Cursive text that reads "School of Music" and links to the homepage

Apply Now 


Graduate Music Faculty Committees

Graduate Music Faculty Committees

The Graduate Faculty of the School of Music is charged with maintaining the academic integrity of graduate music programs, requirements, and procedures. To facilitate governance of the graduate program, the graduate faculty is assigned to several standing committees:

Curriculum & Policy Committee

Concerns itself with matters related to the various curricular areas of graduate music study, requirements, procedures, and standards.

Melinda Boyd, chair (ex-officio)
Daniel Swilley, Graduate Music Core (2022)
Sean Botkin, keyboard (2022)
Steve Koh, strings (2022)
Kevin Droe, music education (2021)
John Hines, voice (2020)
Amanda McCandless, woodwind/percussion (2022)
Tina Su, brass (2022)
John Wiles, large ensembles (2020)
Michael Conrad, jazz (2021)


Admissions Committee

Monitors admission policies and procedures.

Julia Bullard, chair (ex-officio - voting)
Melinda Boyd, music history
Hannah Porter Occeña, woodwinds/percussion
Danny Galyen, music education/ensembles
Randy Grabowski, brass
Robin Guy, keyboard
Julia Bullard, strings
Jean McDonald, voice
Mike Conrad, theory/jazz


Examinations Committee

Involves itself with matters pertaining to diagnostic (taken upon entrance) and final comprehensive (written and oral) examinations, and any other matters in the general area of examinations.

Melinda Boyd, chair/music history
Korey Barrett, voice/keyboard
Julia Bullard, strings/music education
Anthony Williams, brass
Amanda McCandless, woodwinds/percussion
John Wiles, ensembles
Jonathan Schwabe, music theory


Thesis/Recital/Research Paper Committee

Sets standards and procedures for the Thesis, Graduate Recital, and Research Paper.

Julia Bullard, chair/strings
Alison Altstatt, music history
Ann Bradfield, woodwinds/percussion
Amy Kotsonis, music education
Chris Merz, jazz/music education
Suzanne Hendrix-Case, voice/opera
Heather Peyton, theory
Randall Harlow, keyboard
John Wiles, ensembles
Anthony Williams, brass 


Student Outcomes Assessment Committee

Oversees Student Outcomes Assessment Goals and Objectives.  Prepares Annual SOA Report.

Melinda Boyd, chair
Andrea Johnson
Ann Bradfield
Kevin Droe
Danny Galyen
- 1 seat vacant (2020) -